• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

headphones: how and whether to start?

Mikig

about headphone

I would like to try to set up a decent mini system, just as an alternative to my speaker system, which I have no intention of overshadowing. For the sake of putting an ear into the world of headphones too.

I have no significant experience with headphones, but I have some material, a Sennheiser HD205 headphones, very basic I think, and two headphone amplifiers, a Stax SRM Xh, never opened and a Grado HPA-1, which act as ornaments.

What would you do in my place?

1) I sell everything and buy something new,

2) I keep amps and change headphones, but Stax and Grado have different connections.

3) It's not worth it! either you do it right or you don't! Do I leave everything as it is and since it's just a temptation, do I use the funds to improve my Hi-fi system?

Brian Hall

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
It depends. What are you trying to achieve?

1. What is your budget?
2. Do you want a lot of bass or more accurate reproduction?
3. What kind of headphones are you comfortable with? IEM, full sized or very light weight over the head? Open back or closed back?
4. What is your source of music? Streamer, CD, turntable, mixed?
5. What is your favorite type of music?

edited to add: Have you actually tried listening to what you have? You might already be satisfied with it if you give it a chance.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
about headphone

I would like to try to set up a decent mini system, just as an alternative to my speaker system, which I have no intention of overshadowing. For the sake of putting an ear into the world of headphones too.