• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Acoustic Energy AE 100.2 bookshelf speaker review

incubus

Acoustic Energy 100.2 bookshelf speaker review

Since this is my first post and my first measurement of a commercial speaker please be patient with me. English is not my mother language so my text might be bumpy to read.
I have built some speakers myself following guidelines from DIY Hifi magazines available in Germany. So far I am not very happy with the results so I started measuring my speakers.
But I am a beginner and I have found this forum and I am so happy to finally be able to move away from pure subjective description to objective measuring.
Again, this is my first analysis of a commercial speaker and I would be glad if you could give me additional advice on things I can improve.

Tempted by many positive online reviews I have bought a pair of Acoustic Energy speakers: AE 100.2 for 350 EUR (before I found this forum).
IMG_0602.jpg
IMG_0603.jpg

Let's find out if they are truly any good using the following tools:
  • Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen as audio interface
  • DIY cables for impedance measurements
  • Sonarworks microphone XREF20 with calibration file
  • REW 5.20
  • Windows 11 Laptop

SPL far field (1m):
AE 100.2 spl far field no smoothing.jpg

I was measuring in my garden. The speaker box was 1.2 meters from the ground and the microphone was 1m from the speaker pointed at the tweeter.
The first graph represents the measurements without any smoothing, the second graph show psychoacoustic smoothing by REW. My neighbors are friendly people and I would like them to stay that way so I was aiming for roughly 80 db. I only have a Hifi amplifier so I cannot tell the watts it was delivering.