• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Is it normal to have multiple amps in this hobby?

dman777

I am new to this hobby. I find myself beginning to collect amps (2 channel music). I own the Yamaha r-n2000a, as-3200, and now I am thinking about buying a Luxman. Is it normal for someone in this hobby to have multiple amps? I guess I eventually will sell 1, but I feel like I need months to compare to come to my conclusions.

Chrispy

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Not much point to it unless you're just adding systems to different rooms....

ps Otoh for power amps, a multitude can come in handy for a variety of purposes but no need to repeat the pre-amp sections..,

Last edited:

Dunring

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I always have several and it's the best way to compare vs trusting your memory. Most amps these days have gotten so transparent I can only hear any difference doing a volume matched side by side or blind test when someone is over.
From one brand to the next it's maybe 5-10 percent difference at the same price range or SINAD.

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
A lot of audiophiles (or audio enthusiasts) may tend to "collect" equipment but most people only have one set up at a time. (I use an AVR with a separate amp for my passive subwoofers.) I do have an old amplifier in the closet.

but I feel like I need months to compare to come to my conclusions.
Most amps do a good job of amplifying without adding or subtracting anything. Sometimes there is audible noise (hum, hiss, or whine in the background).