• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DMS said that harmonic distortion makes the sound pleasing

MakeMineVinyl

Major Contributor
Why would you like what those variables are doing? The artist could have already done that in the recording. You just double up on it.

I like what those variables are doing because, being an engineer myself, I can and do control those variables. I know exactly what they are doing and if at some point I don't like what they are doing I can change the circuitry to the point where I like the result.

Frankly, the 'artists' don't impress me all that much. I'm a composer and recording engineer myself, and I certainly don't hold the results of my work to such high regard that I think that it cannot be improved or modified to taste down the road by somebody who may have far different preferences in the way they like things to sound. Artists and recording engineers are just as gullible and subject to bias as anybody else, and certainly aren't the ultimate authority on everything audio. There are plenty of horrible recordings which prove this.

Inner Space

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Frankly, the 'artists' don't impress me all that much.

As a sidebar, I have to agree. I worked with a significant number of artists whose only "intent" was to make it to the next pay check or the next fix. And none of them seemed to care about anything beyond the final mix. They never considered the domestic listening experience might come out different.

tmtomh

Major Contributor
Forum Donor