• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Causes of "harsh" sound in speakers (and tweeter material)

thanossapiens

One of my biggest issues when listening to different speakers is that a lot sound unbearably harsh(sibilant?) to me, even if they measure flat-ish on the treble. Sometimes its hard or impossible to EQ away for some reason, even if I know where the peak is. This made me think it might be some sort of sibilance, but looking at spectral decay plots (i dont know if these are the most relevant ones but im a newbie at this), while not perfect, a lot seem to be ok.
I noticed that the worst offenders are usually hard domes like diamond or beryllium tweeters. I'm not sure why, but I dont think its placebo since most of the time I got to hear super expensive stuff from B&W or Focal,etc I was thinking "I bet this is gonna sound amazing" and not the opposite.
Perhaps most recordings, even "audiophile" staples like Dire Straits are kinda bad and it shows more on good speakers?
I'd love to hear your thoughts if you have any, thanks

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Sibilance is sometimes induced during the recording process. So with some songs you may get more or less and the speakers may not be to blame. Diamond or beryllium tweeters are not prone to sibilance unless the tuning of the speaker includes sibilance.

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Not to kick off the whole B&W thing again, but the latest ones have some odd peaks in the treble.

voodooless

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor