• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

MQA Deep Dive - I published music on tidal to test MQA

Status
Not open for further replies.

abdo123

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Didn't we have simlilar AES papers back when MP3 was the hot stuff?

from the 'papers' i have read on AES, they're borderline a predatory journal.

the papers' transcripts follow no real academic structure, their language is intentionally difficult to understand, and their abstracts have no real meaningful information and is there to look 'sciency'

At least the name of the journal represents that, they're a bunch of engineers who wanted to do 'science'.

He asked if anyone did any research and there are two papers on AES about it, I'm a biologist so i can't really critique the audio science in the paper.

OP
GoldenOne

GoldenOne

Not Active
Any Journal is at the end of the day the product of those that contribute to it.
The AES absolutely, unquestionably has a wealth of incredible information. But a Journal contributed to by and primarily made up of people and firms that are trying to sell products is inherently going to be quite different to a Mathematical Journal for example.

PO3c

yes and people couldn't tell the difference between MQA and WAV.

https://www.aes.org/e-lib/browse.cfm?elib=19396
That interpretation might not be in favor of MQA given one need products with special sauce playing back 24/96 MQA content.

And now with what seem to be how Tidal no longer allow MQA content to passthough non licened transports yet another important selling point of MQA are crumbling.

Borrowed form https://community.auralic.com/t/from-us-auralic-vs-drm/7328/16
1622292826129.png

Last edited:

abdo123

Master Contributor
Forum Donor