• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

heat in loudspeakers

• Thread starter Deleted member 21219
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 21219

Good evening. I am not an engineer or scientist, and I have 2 questions for those people here who are engineers or scientists. 1) in loudspeakers that are relatively insensitive, needing more-than-average power, how hot can the voice coil get? 2) in loudspeakers that are relatively insensitive, needing more-than average power, how hot do some crossovers get?
Thank you for your time and consideration. Jim Taylor

mhardy6647

Grand Contributor
Crossovers can get hot enough to immolate components therein.
VCs can, and do, "burn" open when stressed beyond their limits.

A scorched crossover (burned up power resistor)

74762.jpg

source: https://forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/138722/lsi15-crossovers-burned-through

Last edited:

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
As for high temps. I opened drivers to inspect the voice coils and found totally blackened carbon coils and others I've seen have been blued from the heat but not burnt. So I am guessing if the metal can be blued then that is near red hot. The same goes for crossovers being burnt and crispy when abused.

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
The answer for #1 is yes although the air movement in a cabinet could exceed the flow around a driver mounted on a open baffle. The design/venting of the driver matters here.

The answer for #2 is a yes too although there are many peeps out there using too small of power amps and resultingly they have clipping issues.

mhardy6647

Grand Contributor
another toasted XO

sW6u3.jpg

https://electronics.stackexchange.c...ntifying-replacement-components-on-pcb/425457