• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

IEMs technicalities.

music_lover

I am new to audio science. I have a question for you experts. Do technicalities exist in IEMs?
I have the truthear zero red. I am wondering if the 64 audio u12t is better technically than the zero red? Like say in resolution, imaging etc.

nerdemoji

the answer is... maybe. Some people say there is a technical and tone criteria for iems, headphones and speakers. I still don't know for sure, but if you check out sharur's two videos on the tanchjim tanya, you can see how an iem can have good tone, but lack other aspects which might contribute to "technical performance". An important thing to note is that "technical performance" is often perceived by reviewers to scale with price (check crinacle) so part of this criteria might be psychological (to some degree).

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Like say in resolution, imaging etc.
Those are perceptions that different people will define & experience differently.

You can measure & quantify frequency response (to some extent), distortion, and sensitivity. Frequency response with headphones & IEMs is "difficult" because of how the soundwaves interact with the ear... You'll never see "flat" frequency response.

There is a poll about headphone "soundstage" and I assume IEMs are similar. The most common perception is the sound coming from inside your head! That surprised me... With headphones, I feel like the sound is mostly coming from around my forehead but with all I read about "soundstage" and "imaging" I thought I was an exception and most people were getting a better soundstage illusion.