• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Should more emphasis be given to speaker (& driver) size in reviews + what is the ethos of this site?

sarumbear

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
It is speculation that the user will be employing subs, that is speculation. When we take it as a given, how does it calculate for subs of unknown ability, quantity and integration?
Please read about the preference score to understand it.

I thought you was of the opinion the preference score didn't work, at least not well enough, didn't you start a thread to that effect?
I didn’t say score doesn’t work. I said I lost trust with it. Its not the same. I am an experienced speaker designer with multiple degrees related to speakers. In order to critique something you must understand it first.

Last edited:

tomtoo

Major Contributor
It is speculation that the user will be employing subs, that is speculation. When we take it as a given, how does it calculate for subs of unknown ability, quantity and integration?

I thought you was of the opinion the preference score didn't work, at least not well enough, didn't you start a thread to that effect?

What you want is one number that tells you if a Porsche911 or a pickup truck is the better car for you usage. Easy to see that this is not possible.

audiofooled

Addicted to Fun and Learning
This car would be suitable for your average 2,2 children. If you try and squeeze the 3 you will be having difficulties closing the doors and reaching top speed on a steep gradient.

tomtoo

Major Contributor
This car would be suitable for your average 2,2 children. If you try and squeeze the 3 you will be having difficulties closing the doors and reaching top speed on a steep gradient.