• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

VMV D2R and VMV P2

gizmo90

I got the VMV D2R today. I listened about 20 track. Its voice is still likely to change (burn in period).
First impression after SMSL VMV D1SE DAC:
- Sound of D1SE has some bright/sharp component. This is missing from D2R sound so its sound more natural.

- D1SE has stronger/deeper bass. I hope it will change at D2R DAC. Now the D1SE has better bass.

(I have been using the D1SE DAC for 2 years. I didn't change anything. Same streamer (Pi4+Volumio) and cables. I tried with the D2R factory settings).
For what its worth my D2R sounded better after a month. I had the D1se2 and yes, it was sharp at times while still being an excellent DAC.
D2R reminds me of the Phillips tda based DACs, but better!

Rotel

For what its worth my D2R sounded better after a month. I had the D1se2 and yes, it was sharp at times while still being an excellent DAC.
D2R reminds me of the Phillips tda based DACs, but better!
Yes, the D2R is the better DAC. Only the usual D1SE sub bass is missing. I will use it and probably the sound will changing. It's a good DAC, worth the price ($850) to me.

HarmonicTHD

Major Contributor
I got the VMV D2R today. I listened about 20 track. Its voice is still likely to change (burn in period).
First impression after SMSL VMV D1SE DAC:
- Sound of D1SE has some bright/sharp component. This is missing from D2R sound so its sound more natural.

- D1SE has stronger/deeper bass. I hope it will change at D2R DAC. Now the D1SE has better bass.

(I have been using the D1SE DAC for 2 years. I didn't change anything. Same streamer (Pi4+Volumio) and cables. I tried with the D2R factory settings).