• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Subwoofer crossover choice for a 2.1 system

MeZoX

I have a Pair of KRK 8G4 monitors connected to a KRK10S2 Subwoofer , I have crossover options from 60 to 90Hz on the back side of the woofer

I am not an audio professional I just use them for listening to music and watching movies , I started testing with my ears and using my mobile app phone made by krk to generate an RTA spectrum and see which option gave me the most flat response from my listening position

I Have found that the best crossover frequency for me is at 60Hz as It allows me to increase the volume of the subwoofer to get a better response for the Sub-bass frequencies up to 60Hz and at the same time preventing this subwoofer volume from adding to the energy of the bass frequency range (which is also produced very well by the monitors) in 60-90 too much which would muffle the rest of the Bass frequency . Vocals are much clearer now with sub bass frequencies more present and felt

However I have seen several people recommending that crossover frequency should be 80Hz , which is not working well for me because when I do that I have the 60-90 range being a lot louder than the rest of the frequencies because its reproduced by both the monitors and subwoofer, which forces me to turn down the volume on the subwoofer too much which causes the 20-30Hz rumble to be not present , also I think having the vocals frequency split between the woofer and the monitors would not provide a good result unless you can have a very well suited crossover roll off which I think isn't doable with those built it crossovers in the subwoofer