• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Looking for new Headphones for the next 10 Years

mispela

Hello Forum,

I have been using the Sennheiser HD 650 for 10 years, but they are now coming to the end of their life. I also temporarily had the HD 600 and 800s, neither of which convinced me. So now I'm looking for new headphones that will last at least 10 years with pad change/cable change and sound significantly better than the HD 650 and cost under 1000 USD. In case of doubt I would also spend 2000 USD, but only if they are really worth it.

The brand, I do not care as long as they are stable and sound very good with or without eq.

The headphones should not be noticeable on the head, even after a familiarization period, and please no inears.

I listen to all kinds of music, so these shouldn't be good for just one genre.

Any recommendations from you guys?
Please always with reason why these should be better.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Slap some new pads, headrest foam on the HD650 and enjoy for the next 10 years.
Not all brands might last nor support headphones for the next 10 years.

Not being noticeable on the head is a tall order.
The HD650 are quite noticeable, certainly new ones with their higher, out of the box, clamping force.
The HD800 is better in comfort (to most) but feels a bit different than other headphones.

What exactly do you want 'better' in the sound.

OP
M

mispela

By better sound I mean the spatial representation of the HD 650 is not perfect, there should be the new definitive better and the resolution as many sounds can be generated. The HD650 have more problems than just the pads so I need new ones anyway.