• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Just got my first good passive speakers, where do I go from here?

Adolinium

Hello sages of Audio Science Review!

This is my first time posting here, came from r/BudgetAudiophile in reddit which advocates a lot for passive speakers, and I am curious on how I can improve my first good set of speakers.

Currently I have the Aiyima A07 and Wharfedale D320s (Measurement can be found here, might be similar to Diamond 220s) connected to my 2020 Mac because the D320s were discontinued and it was relatively cheap in my country ($170) so I snagged it and subjectively quite like the sound. But I wonder if I could get even better sound.

Here are my three avenues of expansion, having a budget of approximately $600, I can upgrade my speakers to a better set of passives, get a subwoofer, or try my hand at EQ.

For speakers the options in my country are pretty ok:

1. Wharfedale Diamond 12.2 ($442 here, might be the safest upgrade considering I like the sound of D320s)
  2. Wharfedale Evo 4.1 (Reviewed terribly here but I can get it for $500)
  3. ELAC DBR62 ($550 here)
  4. Polk R100 ($600 here)
For subwoofers my situation is so tragic that I'm not even considering any. The cheapest subwoofer from a good brand is an SVS SB-1000 Pro, which is $950 here. Rythmik, HSU, RSL, and the like just don't exist here. I would also perhaps have to buy another amplifier with a subwoofer out because most of these options don't have both speaker level inputs and outputs.

1. Wharfedale SW-150 ($284, horrendously overpriced for going only to 35 Hz I would think)
  2. Polk HTS 10 ($442 here, overpriced by a bit)