• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help with Dayton audio imm6

RemedyMusic

Reviewer
Hi everyone! I'm Edz and this is my first thread here in ASR. Ok, let me introduce myself in the quickest way possible.

I've been a musician for 3 decades and counting. And I'm a small reviewer from Philippines and 2 years active at Headfi. My name there si RemedyMusic as it is here. My audiophile journey started roughly around 2 years ago when the pandemic (covid) started. As I embarked on this hobby, I decided to purchase a Dayton imm6 measurement rig to add objectivity to my reviews.

Before posting this thread I have searched for infos regarding what I need but unfortunately the didn't find my specific need. Hence the reason I'm here! lol

To get started let me lay down what I use in measuring:

1. REW software (free version only)
2. Dayton audio imm-6
3. Abigail pro 3.5mm
4. tubes
5. couple of tips (dunu SnS, kbear 07, foam tips, bqeyz tips)
6. Macbook pro 2011 13"
IMG20230619093654.jpg

Up front, my goal here is to be as close to an iec711 measuring. I'm told that when measuring, a lot of factors are to be considered thus I'm not expecting to be accurately the same as ies711 but somehow I wish it is possible to be close. Another thing, I don't have a CAL file for the imm-6 and so the previous owner of the imm-6 just walked me through his workflow when measuring.

To address my concern I will be expressing them with photos and comparisons with some of my fellow reviewers' graphs. First off let me show you how my graph compares to the graph of the previous owner of my imm-6.

pandamon ob vs remedymusic.png