• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Double PCB amplifier problem hum need help!!

ModDIY

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Hello everyone,

I have 2 purchased PCBs already assembled made by Zero Zone.

I have only one toroidal transformer of 100VA (18-0-18v), the transformer has no ground wire. If I plug in a mono PCB at a time, there is no hum, but as soon as I add the 2nd, the hum appears.

Screws on PCBs don't seem to have any grounds, so that suggests to me that PCBs aren't grounded. In addition there is a separate rectification on each PCB.

If you have any suggestions or ideas that can help me, that would be much appreciated. I also want to mention that I am quite new to electronics.

Thank you.
Denis.

Attachments

• _IMG_000000_000000.jpg
    _IMG_000000_000000.jpg
    794.2 KB · Views: 139

Vini darko

Major Contributor
Hi after spending some time looking at build. I notice it's a single ended input but they are wired seperatly into the amplifier modules. Try running a wire between the two negative inputs on the rca jacks ( negetive is the outer ring). That should establish common ground for the amp modules and may help with the hum.

802Lundgren

Hi,
wow, interesting build. It's great to DIY and you are obviously brave enough to do that. However some of what I can see looks like its not built to last. like for example the solder joints on the speaker terminals? Also that kind of terminal strip is not a good thing, the tranformer wires are most likely solid and it is not optimal to use a terminal strip like that. And remember Safety first, if I were you I would always have one hand in my pocket even just being close to that build. Ok, sorry about that, on to your problem.