• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Different cables, different measurements?

DavyRockstar

So, I finally have a proof?? I finally have the ultimate answer to the ultimate question?? (Go to bold for the resume)

Hi, everyone, since I'm an engineer i don't really believed how a cable might affect sound, i mean, YES there are all types of cables and some are for specific tasks, such as the Lizt cable which is a type of cable done with the specific task to transmit very high radio frequencies, since regular cable starts to roll off at 50KHz.... and shielded cable, highly used in electronics.... but this is far different to change how a sound signal passes thru whith an objective change.

Sure, test like impedance, capacitance, and inductance are important but most of the time this test does not show if a cable can truly modify a signal that passes thru it.
I was improving my system, I love my pioneer CS-A700, and i did some upgrades with better quality capacitors, cleaning the pots, filling the boxes with glass fiber... you need to make a good pair with the correct amplifier to achieve a good sound thoe, which I don't have, I use a Nakamichi amplifier 1, a very refine unit, but the classic lean in bass Japanese sound, and as my source I use a Pro-Ject Pre Box S2 Digital and my computer... using DSP equalizers makes the bass sound the way it should.... just the midrange was a little harsh at mid-high volumes... at this time I used a good quality aluminum cable from a car audio brand (don't remember which) it was copper plated

But I always wandered, how people could be so naive to waste a lot of money in cables if they do not do any improvement?