• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

'Burn-in'

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrKlinky

Newbie here, Hi All.

Excepting electromechanical systems (loudspeaker drivers; perhaps phono cartridges) only the ear/brain combination is subject to 'burn in'. ie. we simply become accustomed to the real or imagined differences (I'm thinking particularly power cables here after reading posts here!) when upgrading hifi.
Discuss.

sojun80

It's really strange but so true. I've been playing a game through geforce now (a remote gaming platform), it produces sound that is extremely tinny, no bass and just all focused on the high range. After 30 minutes I am used to it and when I switch to listening to music or something else on a normal local system, it sounds 'bad' initially - I am missing the extreme high range that I am used to now. I know my local system sounds a LOT better - but my brain got used to something else.

Katji

Major Contributor
btdt

so, I am being catty -- but... DAC burn-in(?!)

Looking at a thread Someplace Else about someone's new DAC and this screenshot (from the DAC itself, I guess... EDIT: or maybe their website) kind of caught my eye. (SEE screenshot below from the product website) I mean, what happens if the owner gets busy and lets it burn in for eight days...

Burning in

I've never understood this, I get some things needing to warm up to sound their best, tube amps for instance, but wire? Why would interconnects or speaker wire need 100 hours to sound their best? Is this, as I wholly expect, nonsense? It reminds me of direction arrows on interconnects as if the...

Burn-in testing - real or imaginary?