• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Best small passive speaker for scientific setup

Alt93

Hello,

I am studying sound engineering and currently doing research on 3D audio. At the university we have a wonderful audio dome based on Genelec One's for this purpose. However, it is often occupied or only available in small time slots. I have a decent room at home and would like to build a small 3D setup myself for my work. For starters, it should be a classic 7.1.4 setup. For this I need affordable, small, passive speakers in the best possible quality. I know DSP very well, so corrections in the frequency range are no problem. Everything that can not be influenced with DSP, such as radiation pattern, resonances, etc. should be technically as good as possible.
Do you have any practical recommendations for me?
Many thanks already!

Mal

What do you mean by affordable? For some $50 is affordable, for others $50 000...

As you are a student, I'll assume $50 - Wharfedale Diamond 9.0 are small and cheap. I have a pair I use as computers speakers, but don't have the techie know how to give you detail on radiation patterns and resonances! They have been around a long time (decades...) so maybe do a Google search to see if anyone has used them in experiments like yours. They have a fairly good reputation and seem solidly built, I can't say more than that...

Amir did some serious measurements on the Wharfedale Diamond 12.1s that might give a feel for Wharfedale in general... they are more than $50, though...

OP
A

Alt93

What do you mean by affordable? For some $50 is affordable, for others $50 000...