• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Balanced VS Sing-ended DACs,

kecstama

Hello!

I'm a fellow newbie ""audiphile"".
My question here is:

I'm about to buy a new DACAMP

I have 2 opitons (both used):
Audio GD R2R 11
Audio GD HFB10.33

The R2R is a bit cheaper, but my problem here is that i can't decide which model would be better for me. The R2R Model uses a better DAC (DSD, DXD, higher bitrate/sampling rate support), but the HFB has balanced outs(And inputs!!!).
(On top of that, R2R uses a "resistor ladder" thingy, while the HFB model uses Delta-Sigma thingy)

I'll be using active monitors (Later!, next planned upgrade :)). If i read things right XLR "must" be better than RCA connection, but i want to be sure. (This will be my first "higher-end" machinery, i dont wanna make a bad decision)

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Where possible, get a DAC with XLR output especially for powered monitors. Ground loops can occur in those situations with RCA causing hum that is difficult if not impossible to get rid of.

As to your choice of DACs, try to find another brand/model from the ones we have tested. All the Audio-gd DACs that I have tested have performed poorly. You can get a balanced DAC from Grace Design/Drop for just US $150. Or SMSL SU-8.

SDC

18 years old. Newb "audiophile" who's first post is selection between two Audio GD product... :rolleyes:

Anyway, not buying Audio GD will result in better performance than buying balanced Audio GD product. Seriously.

Every DSPed active monitors have negative feedback with delta sigma chips anyway.

MediumRare

Major Contributor
Forum Donor