• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Was this aimed at ASR?

mocenigo

Major Contributor
AFAIK, there aren't Ayn Rand cultists on the AudioXpress staff, or if there are, they're pretty quiet about it.

Ok I admit I do not understand the reference to Ayn Rand cultists.

Tks

Major Contributor
Oh this is rich..

Jim Austin:

I am a scientist myself, a physicist with a PhD., a few peer-reviewed articles published in respectable journals, and an edited book. I was employed for 14 years by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. I'm married to a professor of chemistry who holds an honorary endowed chair. Science is big in my life.

My only regret about ASR--this appears to be more true of its most zealous community members than of the proprietor--is the narrowness of their perspective. Many refuse to acknowledge, first, that, as I have written before, when it comes to the communication of emotion through music, science does not have primacy, let alone hegemony. And second, that other people's values--the way they make decisions about, for example, what audio equipment to buy--is up to them, not you. This is a perspective that I have come to, from a background based in science.

Despite the email quote above, which insists otherwise, ASR seems to have a calling, a moral cause, at least in the minds of its most zealous participants. Stereophile's only cause is promoting the enjoyment of music in the home, at the highest level.