• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

The quest for my hyper speaker - Very Large room dilemma

OP
A

aliqaz

I’m not an expert, so all I can offer is my own ideas. Perhaps you won’t mind if I enjoy the conversation.
My movie room is similar volume to yours, little bit different dimensions, 14x25x9 ft. Two walls are nearly completely windows, glass door to the porch on a third wall, and two openings to other rooms on the fourth wall. Not an acoustically perfect room by any means. I am running JBL 4349 as left & right in that room in a 7.1 set up. Listening to two-channel stereo music, I found the bass quite weak for my taste, until an 18-in sub was added. Apart from that, the output is quite adequate.
I expect Kef makes something that will fill your room to your liking. I’ve heard Muon in a very large room, and it was deafening.
High output Genelec, Neumann and JBL will fill the bill sonically, but maybe not aesthetically. The frequency response of JBL’s for whatever reason are more lumpy than flat (in general) right out of the box. If memory serves, M2 and 4367 are exceptions to this. I haven’t seen spins for Everest. They are very large and heavy, so it may be no one but the manufacturer will ever measure them. Fortunately, for JBL, you can usually find anechoic measurements to apply corrective EQ, but this adds complexity and is inconvenient. I think it’s interesting that their designer, Greg Timbers, has them in his home, considerably modified from their stock condition. There’s a video interview floating around the internet, if you want to check it out.