• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

The quest for my hyper speaker - Very Large room dilemma

aliqaz

Hi there,

A long time enthusiast and lurker here. I am posting this to see if the community can be of any help in helping me find a speaker for my very large great room.

I have been an audiophile for many years, and an objectivist one for almost as long. As a physician I am familiar with the concept of blinded control trials. During the beginning of my hobby I conducted my own single blinded and double blinded trials, which, due to the fact that I was not able to hit statistical significance, led me inexorably down the path of objectivism.

I have a Great room which is very large. About 25 ft width, 60 ft length, and a ceiling height that varies from 18 ft to 30 ft. I sit about 16 to 18 ft from my speakers, in an equilateral triangle.

In terms of tonality and dispersion my current speakers are absolutely great (revel f208s). I prefer both wide and narrow dispersion and have tonally accurate speakers that represent both in some of my other systems (Philharmonic BMR, r3). I use room correction extensively (Dirac/xt32/anthem arc, above and below 500hz for different systems as the situation demands).

Currently in that room I have a pair of revel f208s. I love these speakers, and I love their wide dispersion. I even love the ability of their two 8-in woofers to bring the bass down to pretty reasonable levels. But, as a high SPL listener, I simply feel that at high volume levels, at least in my room and where I am sitting, they tend to fall apart in terms of dynamics. They are being given close to 600 watts at 4 ohms, so plenty of power.