• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How do I add a HT/regular subwoofer to powered speakers?

Bruce80

Hi,
I'm not an audio producer, but I thought you might have a good solution for my problem.
Today I'm using Topping D10 Balanced DAC connected to powered speakers Adam Audio A3x.
I have a Home theatre powered subwoofer, which I want to add to this system. Unlike audio production dedicated subwoofers, I can't passthrough audio from the subwoofer.
Instead of buying an additional subwoofer, I want to use my current sub, and I wonder what is the name of the BOX in my image I'm looking for.
I would love this solution to be relatively small and cheap.
LPF to the sub only below 80Hz and HPF to the speakers with higher than 80Hz
sub_setup.png

sweetchaos

Major Contributor
The Curator
MiniDSP Flex would work.

Review:

OP
Bruce80

Bruce80

MiniDSP Flex would work.

Review:
Thank you but this is an extremely expansive solution. I just need a passive HPF/LPF box.

OP
Bruce80

Bruce80

Closest thing I've found is this: Behringer Super-X Pro CX2310 V2, a crossover with subwoofer Output.
As I am not familiar in production equipment, I'm not sure it does exactly what I'm looking for.
But the real problem is the size, at ~20 inch (52 cm), It is huge for my small desk. And the fact it an active (connected to AC) and passive, is also not clear to me as I don't need amplification or any change to the sound signature.

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Passive filters for subs get rather bulky and expensive. Edit: never mind, you're at line level. There are some kind of half-*ss passive filters I've seen, if you don't mind very shallow slopes. Also, some subs offer filtering.

sarumbear

Master Contributor
Forum Donor