• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Use a 5V to 12V USB Cable as a Trigger for an Amplifier

Hi everyone,

I would like to ask a question about 12V triggers. I've seen it discussed a few times in the forum, but the following idea doesn't seem to have come up before.

Important: I'm not an expert, so don't take offense if I'm talking nonsense :)

There are 5V to 12 step up converters. Could I attach a 3.5mm jack to the end of such a cable?

Goal: Every time I turn on my TV or DAC, my amplifier turns on. Since this has a trigger in.

Somehow this makes sense to me but maybe there is to much current which the amp can't deal with (Topping PA7 Plus).

Warmly,
Eri

A462de689672f41deb869da42236c2777F.jpg

AudiOhm

The device that you are trying to turn on is looking for a 12 DC signal, where it comes from it has no idea.

The device you are turning on has its own internal circuitry that will determine the current draw not the power from the supply device...

Ohms

JayGilb

Major Contributor
Hi everyone,

I would like to ask a question about 12V triggers. I've seen it discussed a few times in the forum, but the following idea doesn't seem to have come up before.

There are 5V to 12 step up converters. Could I attach a 3.5mm jack to the end of such a cable?

Goal: Every time I turn on my TV or DAC, my amplifier turns on. Since this has a trigger in.

Somehow this makes sense to me but maybe there is to much current which the amp can't deal with (Topping PA7 Plus).

Warmly,
Eri

I would use the 5 vdc from the usb to trigger a 5 vdc relay connected to a 12 vdc (wall wart) power supply. Using a small project box, it could easily be hidden behind your audio equipment.

OP
M