• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Things I (still) don't Understand :)

Jungstar

I'm somewhat new. Only had a few powered speakers jbl 308 and a jbl sub. Rasberry pi hat dac streamer.

I read quite a lot here on Dacs and Speakers and I'm very happy that Amir (which I thought was a japanese lady for the 1st year) has created YouTube Channel and started to debunk myths and also explain more in detail how measurements are done, very impressed. I think his measurement process deserves a video in itself. I'm a big believer in objectivism and science, yet as an economist my electronics and physics level is not rusty, it never grew beyond high school. So how do Amir measure:

Flavour of Sound? Many talk about a warm or cold speaker or a dark or bright speaker? Full body? Can we measure that?

Sound Pressure speakers might both have good values in measurements, but I would assume a larger driver area creates a larger sound pressure without distortion. But some drivers move more. Can I quantify that with watt and sensitivity?

Sinad vs Dynamic Range? what is the difference? Something about volume... And also, what's the limit for when we can actually hear noise it?

Good Low Volume Speaker? Can I see from the charts if a speaker sounds nice at low volume? 95% of the time, I just have background music.

Tubes - are they supposed to be clean? I read that tubes (amp or preamp) on purpose add distortion (or flavor) to the midrange - does that conflict with the goal of minimizing noise and focusing on that?

I'm general all the measurements are quite complicated but much appreciated. I'm happy for some debunking like cables and Psu, that Hans Beekhuyzen, almost got me.

dfuller

Major Contributor