• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Sabaj D5 vs. Topping DX7 Pro: measurement comparison

RickSanchez

Major Contributor
Cartographer
Thought it would be interesting to compare two high-performing DAC/amp combos: the Sabaj D5 vs. the Topping DX7 Pro. Thanks to @amirm for all of the measurements; all of this info is from him (unless otherwise noted), I'm simply putting the measurements side-by-side.

Author's notes:
  • Sabaj before Topping is simply alphabetical; I'm not implying one is better than the other.
  • All of the graphics are labeled, but to make it consistent: Sabaj D5 is always on the left, Topping DX7 Pro is always on the right.
  • I have no experience with either unit, nor do I have any perspective on build quality / customer service.
  • If anyone sees errors / omissions please let me know and I will make corrections.
  • If anyone has issues with the measurements or conclusions ...... take it up with Amir! :D

BASIC SPECS

Sabaj D5:

Topping DX7 Pro:

SINAD
Both measured using USB in / XLR out. However, the Sabaj D5 measurements were taken after 30 minutes of warm-up.

1.SINAD_XLR_out.png

DYNAMIC RANGE

2.dynamic_range.png

JITTER

3.jitter.png

INTERMODULATION + NOISE
The "ESS IMD hump" appears in both units.

4.intermodulation_noise.png

LINEARITY
Both units are capable of 20 bits of resolution.

5.linearity.png

32 TONE INPUT SIGNAL (192 kHz)

6.32_tone.png

THD+N RATIO vs FREQUENCY @ 48 kHZ

7.THDNvsFrequency.png

FREQUENCY RESPONSE
I didn't find this for the Topping DX7 Pro, so only the Sabaj D5 is listed.

8.frequency_response.png

FFT SPECTRUM OF WHITE NOISE @ 44.1 kHZ
For the DX7 Pro, please note this discussion regarding the filters between @Veri and Amir. As Amir states: