• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help with measurements

thatoneguy

Hello.
I'm trying to measure a DIY headphone driver in a pair of headphones I made based on planar but configured in an unusual way.
I'm a total noob at this measurement stuff so I'm looking for guidance and outside interpretation.

I'm using the MiniDSP UMIK-1 held up to one driver where I expect my ear to be.

Not sure if my settings are correct but here it is.

linear waterfall plot

For some reason the log waterfall plot doesn't display under 200hz display under 200hz unless I expanded the window to 60ms

Do my settings look alright?
Also what's the deal with all the valleys in the waterfall response? Is that really the driver decay? I'm in a 7 foot wide 20 foot long shed, perhaps room reflections are causing that mess?
And is there a method for smoothing out all those wrinkles in the FR?
Are those wrinkles audible? Is there something in this mess of data that I should focus on improving?

maverickronin

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
There's all kinds of things going on there.

First of all is your coupling. Are you just holding the mic to the driver in the open air?

OP
T

thatoneguy

Yes, is that bad? I don't know how else I'm supposed to do it.

Last edited:

maverickronin

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Assuming you aren't going for a K1000/MySphere sort of style that hold the drivers in front of the ears in free space you need to put the driver into a baffle and couple it to something holding the mic to approximate the volume/acoustic impedance/etc the driver will see in actual use in order to get representative measurements.