• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Genelec 8040B Versus Neumann KH150 Versus Neumann KH120 II, All to be used with Subwoofer

Albert190

Forum Donor
Until a few weeks ago, when I solicited the advice of members of this forum, I had been interested in purchasing the Dynaudio LYD 48 monitors to replace my Quad 12 active speakers for home use.

Members of this forum kindly pointed out some weaknesses in these speakers which has caused me to consider other options.

With the suggestion of a forum member, I'm now interested in buying the Genelec 8040B instead of the Dynaudio LYD 48's for home use.

I am not an audio engineer but someone who just appreciates the faithful reproduction of music in an accurate, transparent, neutral manner, and this is why I am looking at Pro Monitor speakers instead of consumer speakers.

I've performed a search through this forum to determine if a review has been performed in the past on the Genelec 8040B but have been unable to find such a review and thus am seeking the advice and assistance of the members of this forum regarding additional information and opinions with respect to these speakers.

Please note I would be using any speaker that I buy with a subwoofer that I already own with two 12 inch drivers and 1,000 watts of power.

I've tried the Neumann KH120 II, and very much liked the sound of these speakers but thought they were too small and was concerned about their ability to produce the peak SPL's I would require in my 11' X 20' living room.