• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Advice needed on choice of Amplifier

LeontTP

First time poster here, appreciate all the informative threads and posts Ive read before!

Now Ive had my eye on the perfect Amp for me but could use some guidance. Im looking for an integrated Amp with a few requirements such as:
  • In my budget of around 500€
  • Remote controllable in different ways
  • Analog Ins
  • Black minimalist finish with little to no light indicators
  • Not too large of a footprint ( 30x30x10cm or so)
  • Flat as can be frequency response from 20 - 20KHz
  • Something that can handle tower speakers in a medium sized room or more in case of future speaker purchases
Sorry if Im not technical enough, Im not so into that side of things and am just looking to run my 2 channel Stereo with as high quality as I can within these bounds. Other features like bluetooth functionality could be a bonus.
So far Ive found some attractive looking options in the Rega IO and Argon SA1 but given their not so stellar measurements in Amirs reviews Ive been discouraged.
The best option Ive seen so far is the Yamaha WXA-50 as it seems to tick most boxes and measure decently and am currently looking at a used one for 200€. My only worry is if its not powerful enough, Class D amps always look so unimpressive but from what I understand they can output a lot.

What would you guys say, are there better options for me?

Thanks!

Last edited:

MaxBuck

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
First time poster here, appreciate all the informative threads and posts Ive read before!

Now Ive had my eye on the perfect Amp for me but could use some guidance. Im looking for an integrated Amp with a few requirements such as: