• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Most beautiful speakers in the world ?

jtgofish

Gale 401a still.Circa 1975.
They sound superb too.
1627548949304.png

1627549077406.png

Frank Dernie

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
The decision to go for aluminium was genius both from a business and acoustic perspective. The only thing I would like to see is Genelec anodising their speaker enclosures. This would give it the nicest finish possible. Nowadays you can also anodise and colour it to get beautiful results. For example: https://linetec.com/anodize/color-charts/
IME, and I have been using colour anodising for 45 years, the problem is colour matching. All the parts that come out of a single batch are the same colour but getting the colour exactly the same on a batch later seemed to be beyond any of our suppliers.
Also the Genelec speakers are diecast and getting an even colour would require other surface treatments first IME.
Paint is much more consistent.

Marc v E

Major Contributor
IME, and I have been using colour anodising for 45 years, the problem is colour matching. All the parts that come out of a single batch are the same colour but getting the colour exactly the same on a batch later seemed to be beyond any of our suppliers.
Also the Genelec speakers are diecast and getting an even colour would require other surface treatments first IME.
Paint is much more consistent.
Thank you for this insight!
Do you have any idea then, what B&O are doing to have copper and brass tones? Examples here: https://www.bang-olufsen.com/en/us/speakers/beosound-edge?variant=beosound-edge-brasstone-bundle-us

Tovarich007