• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

The beginning of my audio journey, help and advice

Soshka

Hey everyone! I just wanted to start off by saying how much I love these forums (old school, but still amazing) and the wonderful community and content here. Lately, I've developed a passion for the audio sphere hobby.

To put it simply, I've always been fascinated by "sound" and I've been diving into all the different aspects of it. Now, I must admit that I'm no expert and I'm starting from scratch. I have a small desk setup in my bedroom at home, although it's not perfect, I really want to invest in a speaker setup that is both reliable and delivers great sound. Honestly, I mainly use it for my own entertainment like listening to music, watching films, and gaming during my spare time. It's a complete escape from my work life. I do want to explore the audio hobby in all its glory.

Currently, my dream setup would be the Genelec 8030c speakers (raw finish) with a Genelec subwoofer and an audio interface (maybe the Muto II?). However, some people have pointed out that it might be too much for my room and that I should consider a more beginner-friendly near field setup. Also, since my desk is shared with my wife for her work, the speakers might be a bit too big as we both prefer a clean desk space. So, I wanted to ask for recommendations on good options for a near field setup, preferably with smaller speakers that are versatile, reliable, and built to last.

I'm still leaning towards the Genelecs because they receive a lot of praise, but I've also been eyeing the Kali IN UNF setup as it seems like an all-in-one solution (although I do wish it had protective grills).