• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie with beginner budget and love for lower bass freqs undecided between BR03 and DBR-62

Mush888

Hi all,

first post here, also a complete newbs on HiFi equipment so please be kind with me.

My current situation:
have been using some decent monitors for a while but will move them to my desk and want some more fun speakers for my newly refurb livingroom. Needs to be bookshelf speakers as space is limited (see at the end pictures of the area, they will stand on those shelves together with a TV, limited space behind them - shelves are 55cm deep). Not looking for floorstands.
Also speakers will work as TV output as my TV has terrible sound. Hence, I will need to combine a new set of (passive) speakers that can work both for music listening and home theatre, with an amp that drives them well.

Budget:
I am planning to stay under the €1k (I live in Europe) for this purchase (speakers + amp), but can extend a couple of 100s if it's really really really worth it.

What kind of sound I am looking for:
Well something fun with enough space, equilibrium and punch to work for movies, but also very nice bass - not only in terms of punchiness but also of reach of lower freqs, something like what you can find in this lovely track even in shit 480p YT quality:

I tend to listen to loads of reggae and dub, fast electronic music (psytrance, dnb, techno, generally between 140 and 165bpm) but also a significant amount of hip-hop, blues, storytellers, space rock, psychedelic downtempo, lo-fi and bossanova.