• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

New member from Gouda

Wenslauw

Good afternoon,

Yesterday I found this forum when I googled a Lyngdorf amplifier and today I decided to join.

I'm getting back into the audio world after not having had stereo system in my home for about a decade or two. Earlier this year I bought some headphones (Shure SRH1540 and Sennheiser HD660s) and DACs (Dragonfly red and Chord Mojo). Then I realised I wanted an audio system in the living room again.

I auditioned some Dynaudio and KEF speakers, a Marantz, Rega and Naim amplifier, but I'm still learning about what would be best for me. It's going to be quite a journey.

I'm looking forward to learning from you and sharing information.

Wens

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Dan woon je behoorlijk dicht bij mij in de buurt.

OP
Wenslauw

Wenslauw

And we're in the same work field too. I currently write software for designing railways. :)

Willem

Major Contributor
Van harte welkom vanuit Groningen. How much do you plan to spend, how big is the room, and what kind of music do you play? Plan on spending about 80% of the budget on speakers, and start with those first as they are the most imperfect links in the reproduction chain. Finding decent electronics for a good price is a piece of cake.

OP
Wenslauw

Wenslauw

Ha, I was born in Groningen. I'm still thinking of what path to take, but initially, it'll be about 6k for speakers and amplifier.

80% for the speakers? I keep hearing something like speakers double the price of the amplifier. I don't think that's an absolute though.