• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

SinkMan

I have been using my HD559s for about 3 years, and I love these, the one thing which I like very much about these are the punchy/muddy bass but when I read the reviews most of them didn't like the bass as it was too muddy. So I am looking to upgrade these, what i want in my next pair is a wider soundstage, good imaging, and detailed bass. The hd 559s were my second pair of headphones(first was beats ep), although it did have a wide soundstage, i was able to tell that the headphones was not that impressive after playing some fps games, since it has terrible imaging.
The headphones that I had in my mind was dt 1770s or the dt 1990, I am going to pair it with the ifi zen dac v2 and later i will get the ifi zen can to stack it. I thought that i would get the dt1990s since it has great imaging but i couldn't find anyone who has used the 1990s with the ifi zen can/zen dac v2 for the bass boost. Then i thought i would get the dt 1770s since it has great bass plus its closed back meaning the sound stage would not be wide enough and it also do not have very good imaging according to the reviews i read/saw. So I a bit confused here, someone please help me to chose and if you have any other recommendations for headphones under 500 dollars or 450 euros/pounds , please feel free to tag in! Thank you in advance! :)

solderdude

Grand Contributor