• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Music Production - Virtual Instruments

concorde1

I am getting into music production.

As background I am a beginner-to-intermediate guitarist and pianist. At my level I can read music and play songs, but I can't improvise. I am probably going to go to a school of music. I want to create tracks in computer software that could fit into a video game or other visual media.

In terms of virtual instruments, I have Pianoteq, for both playing casually and recording "piano" with my MIDI keyboard.

I want to get some more virtual instruments.

I have two starting options I am considering.

1. Reaper (I already own consumer version) and NI Komplete (standard).
2. Ableton Live Suite (which includes some instruments)

I'm inclined to go for the first option because Komplete includes Kontakt, which allows plugins that require Kontakt.

Is Komplete (standard) a good buy? Is it stable software? Are the instruments any good?

I essentially want to go with the option that will be more fun.

Perhaps an audio composer, audio engineer or hobbyist here can guide me in the right direction.

HarmonicTHD

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I am getting into music production.

As background I am a beginner-to-intermediate guitarist and pianist. At my level I can read music and play songs, but I can't improvise. I am probably going to go to a school of music. I want to create tracks in computer software that could fit into a video game or other visual media.

In terms of virtual instruments, I have Pianoteq, for both playing casually and recording "piano" with my MIDI keyboard.

I want to get some more virtual instruments.

I have two starting options I am considering.