• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

I'm looking for a DAC with warm sound

JulienCeyhan

Hi everyone!

First of all, I apologize for the language mistakes. I'm French and I don't really know English. So I had my text translated.
I've just registered on this site, and I'm still new to the audiophile world.

I'm currently looking for a DAC for a budget of 300-400eu (max) but I'm lost among all the models on offer.

I have a Pro-Ject Head Box DS2 B amp and a DT 880 Black Special Edition 250ohm, and I've been using a Topping E30 ii DAC for a few weeks now, but I'm not at all satisfied. The high frequencies give me a headache, and I can't listen to my music for long. It's not pleasant to listen to and I find that the sound is not "musical". I plan to return it.

In terms of my expectations, I'm not looking for audio performance but more for "musicality. I want a warm sound with high frequencies that don't assault the eardrums.

I've spotted the Aune X8 XVIII or the Schitt Modi Multibit 2. For the former, I'm planning to change the op-amp for a Sparkos SS3602 (or another?).

What do you think? Do you have any recommendations?
Again, I'm not a hi-fi expert by any means.

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
Julien.

BlackTalon

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Are you using loudspeakers or headphones?

DACs are meant to be neutral. If high (but accurate) frequencies are causing a problem for you, try addressing with adjusting toe (loudspeakers) or with hardware or software equalization. if loudspeakers, it could also have to do with the room.

A DAC that rolls off high frequencies is a 'broken' DAC.

D

Deleted member 21219