• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Don't set your subwoofer on the floor

carewser

When this came up in my youtube recommendations, I was like, what the fuck?!?! Is this guy serious?!?! He mentions "diaphragmatic absorption" or some such thing which sounded like bullshit to me but maybe he's right since his videos have thousands of likes. In part two he makes an analogy between subwoofers and muscle cars which I liked though. While i'm no expert in acoustics I do own 10 subwoofers, 4 of which are down-firing and unlike mid and high frequencies i've always understood bass to be non-directional yet he treats bass as though it is directional, thus the need to elevate subwoofers. It all boils down to him trying to sell a bunch of stuff related to elevating subwoofers and while there's little question that rooms effect acoustics, he's the first person i've ever heard that urges people to elevate their subs so is he a genius or a snake oil salesman?

Koeitje

Major Contributor
If your subwoofer is transferring vibration into the floor through direct contact it is not heavy/sturdy enough.

fieldcar

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Heh. I saw this guy a while back. I think I was researching room treatment. My BS detector went off far too late. But it was the fantastical quasi-scientific lingo that sounded the alarm.

For subs, the more stationary the enclosure, the lower the THD. While a heavier cabinet is better, I use carpet spikes to keep my subs from walking around. Both the JBL 550P and SB2000pro just want to get up and take a walk with the standard rubber mounts. :cool:

Haint