• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Do we need powerful amplifiers at low volume?

ClementNerma

Hi there!

I have a (kinda stupid) question. I'm a beginner in the audio world and was wondering why we couldn't, for instance, drive a pair of KEF LS50 (known to be power-hungry, but rated at 25 - 100 W RMS) with a small amplifier like the AUDIOPHONICS BT60W PRO (which is a $50, 2x55 W amplifier).

What's the point of a higher-end amplifier? If we put aside the "sound quality" itself (with higher quality components), do power actually matter as long as you're not listening at high volume?

Wouldn't technically a 2x5W amplifier be enough to drive a pair of KEF LS50 if you listen at really low volume?

Thanks in advance for your help :)

Ricwa

Forum Donor
Depends on what you mean by really low in the case of 2x5W but you’ll be fine with 2x55W.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Wouldn't technically a 2x5W amplifier be enough to drive a pair of KEF LS50 if you listen at really low volume?
yes.
That said.... 25W to 100W amps also will work well.

OP
C

ClementNerma

Depends on what you mean by really low in the case of 2x5W but you’ll be fine with 2x55W.
Thanks, when why do we say the KEF LS50 are power hungry and most people recommend expensive amplifiers for them? If 2X55W are enough, there are plenty of cheap options out there. Or is it because affordable amplifiers don't have high-enough quality components to make the LS50 shine?

boxerfan88

Look at it another way… it’s the quality of the first watt…

solderdude

Grand Contributor
yep... nonsense... quality is important for the entire voltage (power) range.
The first few Watts are the easiest.

VMAT4

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor