• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Denon AVR-AH1 vs Anthem AVM 90

jabber1066

Looking to upgrade my Denon 3700H AVR for something with more channels and more advanced processing. I've been using separates for many years and a series of Denon AVR's as the processor. Currently working with a 7.2.4 set up (Def Tech and SVS speakers with side and rear surrounds bi-amped) and Emotiva amps. I'd like to add a set of front wide speakers and two more subs unless my wife kills me. (Well, even if she does but you only live once.) So I'm looking for my last AVR/processor unless I live longer than would probably be a good idea. I'd love to finally go with a dedicated processor at this point, but there doesn't seem to be a lot out there on those, for surround at least.

Any thoughts on just sticking with Denon (which I like a lot) and go with their top-end AVR-H1, versus the Anthem AVM-90? Read a review on the Anthem that says it doesn't process DSD, which would pretty much be a deal breaker, although I haven't been able to confirm this on their website. I have an aging but cherished collection of SACD's, and those need to be part of the plan.

Thanks guys

Golfx

Forum Donor
Good morning. The Anthem is a pre processor not an AVR. Marantz has a new pre processor that just received a very favorable review at audioholics.

Denon’s new AVR A1H should test well too and it is next to be tested for bench measurements.

Comparing Anthem to Denon/Marantz I always found Anthem’s user manuals very sparse whereas Denon/Marantz have every complete manuals explaining various setup options and advanced tips.

peng

Master Contributor
Forum Donor