• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Choosing USB connector

NewbieAC

Hi, I am a newbie to streaming digital sound. I have bought an Okto8 Stereo DAC, a Sonore Ultra Rendu player, and a Sonore sonic transporter. I am wondering what USB cable I should purchase to connect the units. I've been suggested that In Akustik cable for about $400. Any thoughts on these cables or cheaper options?

BDWoody

Chief Cat Herder
Forum Donor
Hi, I am a newbie to streaming digital sound. I have bought an Okto8 Stereo DAC, a Sonore Ultra Rendu player, and a Sonore sonic transporter. I am wondering what USB cable I should purchase to connect the units. I've been suggested that In Akustik cable for about $400. Any thoughts on these cables or cheaper options?

Welcome!

Do you have any normal USB printer cables around?

No need to spend extra on cables in general, particularly digital cables. Save your money.

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I'd suggest an Amazon basics cable. It's probably more like $10.

staticV3

Master Contributor
A cable like this will give you the best possible sound quality: https://www.delock.com/produkt/84895/merkmale.html

You'd think that precious metals like gold and silver, extravagant wiring schemes, or fancy connectors would improve the sound.
However, that's just not the case. USB was designed to work at its full potential even with basic cable construction.

Any money spent on fancy USB cables that cost more than $10-15 is a literal waste of money.

RF Air

Forum Donor