• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Adding a volume pot to a PS-LX49 turntable

jrubins_03

I just got my first older record player, and I'm looking to modify it. I'd like to add a volume knob.

To be clear, this is not a question about preamps, only about what type of potentiometer I need to get (I know the volume knob will not make the phono output louder). I have worked with electronics pretty extensively, but I'm no expert, and the math is mostly new to me. I can solder and drill and all that.

I'm not sure where to find what resistance range of potentiometer I need. I have heard that logarithmic scale is better for audio, and since this is a stereo system, I need a 2 gang potentiometer.

I'm attaching the user manual for this model, in case that is at all helpful.

In case anyone is wondering why I would need to do such a thing: I want to save a few bucks, and I live in an apartment where space is hard to come by. I have found small phono preamps online, but many lack a volume knob, and as I plan to listen mostly with headphones, this will probably get old pretty quickly.

This is my first post on the forum, so go easy on me. Any help is appreciated, and I'm willing to accept this isn't the best way to do what I want to do. I am mostly looking for a fun DIY project, and maybe some education on potentiometers.

Attachments

• W0009086M.pdf
    361.1 KB · Views: 159

antcollinet

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi

Where are you hoping to put the volume knob? You can't put it directly on the output of the deck since that is a very low level signal that needs pre-amplification. (You need a phono preamp, or an integrated amplifier with a phono input)