• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

MiniDSP Flex HTx

dweeeeb2

Can any owners please provide first impressions of the HTx? How are you liking it? Any issues? Thank you.
I am a rank amateur, this is my first attempt at 2.1 system (not using all channels), and first attempt at using REW so don't feel like my feedback will be all that useful, but here goes:
- Unit connectors and remote feel fine
- Operation with the front dial alone is fine
- Very responsive when playing with EQ/crossover on the fly
- Takes about 3 sec to jump between presets
- I haven't had time to measure but the unit does play a fair bit quieter (headroom for EQ?)
- Got Dirac connected and running quite easily except I did have a couple of issues
1: Latest released FW would not update HTx with new filters, needed to load latest Beta FW - fixed
2: Kept getting "imprecise measurement error", after plenty of test from Dirac and MiniDSP I ended up having to load an old FW which does miss some of the features of the latest FW, but fixed.
3: Found a bug in the Dirac software where bass response does not match graph in Dirac - Dirac working on fix.
4: Impulse response subjectively appears to be very good as percussions including cymbals is much better, but also quiet background sounds are clearer (did I lift the veil?).
If you have any questions Im happy to answer if I can. Dirac and MiniDSP help have been fine.

Generally speaking I am very happy with my purchase. I feel like I got what I was hoping for. I will not attempt another "good" sound system without a similar device..
Cheers

dweeeeb2