• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amazon Basics 80 Watt Class D Amp Review

pma

Major Contributor
You don't need to wonder. Go check out the specs of the 2100.

(I would not be over optimistic re McIntosh tube poweramp measurements.) Correction - 2100 is solid state

https://www.stereophile.com/content/mcintosh-mc275-power-amplifier-measurements

1010Macfig06.jpg

It is just physics, John.

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 27694

Just out of curiosity since I have no technical knowledge. Is this something people should and would hear in a blind test? So if you level volume and compare it with something that measures much better there is an audible difference?
Is it so that the average person would notice it or do you only notice it with well trained ears?
Thank you!

pma

Major Contributor
Just out of curiosity since I have no technical knowledge. Is this something people should and would hear in a blind test? So if you level volume and compare it with something that measures much better there is an audible difference?
Is it so that the average person would notice it or do you only notice it with well trained ears?
Thank you!

In many cases not. The biggest problem is the frequency response modulation by speaker impedance, so it will depend on complex impedance of the speaker used so the DBT difference is possible depending on speaker. Except for that, the amp will be fine for a common user.

D

Deleted member 27694

In many cases not. The biggest problem is the frequency response modulation by speaker impedance, so it will depend on complex impedance of the speaker used. Except for that, the amp will be fine for a common user.
Thank you!

JSmith

Master Contributor