• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Time Domain measurements?

Joachim Gerhard

Industry Insider
Do I want that : No .
What is my argument anyway ?
Show me a speaker that is designed after the Harman research. So that one is perfect as humanly possible at this point in time, right ?
Send it to me. I will measure it and run it through my own kind of paces.
Then you can better decide if I am a bad researcher.

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Do I want that : No .
What is my argument anyway ?
Show me a speaker that is designed after the Harman research. So that one is perfect as humanly possible at this point in time, right ?
Send it to me. I will measure it and run it through my own kind of paces.
Then you can better decide if I am a bad researcher.
You have something of your own that you want us to measure and listen to? That would help us answer the last line in your post.

napilopez

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Thread is getting kind of derailed... Harman research isn't a rule. No one here cares about Harman as a company. If you have better information just provide good sources, that's all.

Edit: I realize I'm probably further derailing it.

Going back to the subject, I think this is an interesting topic. With active speakers where you can turn time alignment on and off, I do feel I can tell the difference. The question for me is whether it is 'better' or just 'different.' I'm inclined to think it's truer to the source and therefore time alignment the time domain should be optimized when possible as long as you're not significantly sacrificing other more audible parameters for it.

Last edited:

Joachim Gerhard

Industry Insider