• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Replace resistor by low-inductance resistor - Is it audible?

gfx_1

This is what I have in my car:
Those are sand cast amirite? I'm not an engineer but I do know that those speakers are expected to run loud (given the "nature" of car audio) and those xovers are expected to be exposed to high in-car temps (parked outdoors in summer). Maybe sand cast does a better job in that environment?
They are for higher power-ratings, the little ones can dissipate 1/4 Watt. The rectangular ones are usually a couple of Ohms and a couple of Watts.

Reactions: 617

locoliberty

can we do capacitor changes(in crossovers) next?

DDF

Addicted to Fun and Learning

Attachments

• Resistors- Wirewound Inductance Measurements.pdf
    82.1 KB · Views: 420

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I sort of feel sorry for speaker designer stuck in this way of thinking. So many exciting and measurable things happening in speaker design and guys are trying to make better binding posts and doing resistor listening tests.

I suspect there was a time in the 90s when you could make a living with this level of knowledge but I'm not sure how much longer that gravy train will roll along.

Milesian

I believe, as with most audio gear, some will hear a difference, some will not. Then, in this perfect world, each will respect the other’s opinion without rancor, give a friendly wave and move on.

BDWoody

Chief Cat Herder
Forum Donor
I believe, as with most audio gear, some will hear a difference, some will not. Then, in this perfect world, each will respect the other’s opinion without rancor, give a friendly wave and move on.