• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What is it about McIntosh?

Percheron

I’m pretty new to all things audio, and I’m curious about the mystic of McIntosh. I haven’t listened much at all to them but really appreciate the designs. It seems there’s a whole subculture not unlike Harley Davidson, people can’t really explain why they like them, they just do. What is the draw?

-Derek

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
I think you are close on about it being like Harley Davidson. There was a time they were among the best of the best. Very beautiful, very well made, excellent performance, literally their gear lasts a lifetime. That has long ago passed however. They still make beautiful gear. Pretty well made. Performance is anywhere from okay to great to sometimes not very good. So it is a heavy duty build, and old school style that lets them live on their laurels from the past.

KozmoNaut

The style is very polarizing. I absolutely can't stand it, but I know some people who absolutely can't get enough of it.

CDMC

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I think you are close on about it being like Harley Davidson. There was a time they were among the best of the best. Very beautiful, very well made, excellent performance, literally their gear lasts a lifetime. That has long ago passed however. They still make beautiful gear. Pretty well made. Performance is anywhere from okay to great to sometimes not very good. So it is a heavy duty build, and old school style that lets them live on their laurels from the past.

I think this hits it well on the head. Also, their pricing has moved ever higher.

anmpr1

Major Contributor
Forum Donor