• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Why are single drivers disliked to such an extent by most in this forum?

Timcognito

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Do coaxial designs with HF crossovers to tweeters get around the physics? Advantages or disadvantages of those? I'm a novice trying to understand

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
I think it's annoying because it's so very noticeable. It isn't so noticeable if you sit unmoving, but most of the people I know don't like to sit and listen with their "head in a vise", so to speak.
Ah, but the soundstage focus can be amazing.
There are limits and extremes to everything but isn't sitting solo in the "sweet spot" what audiophiles do?
Folks that do otherwise have little interest in what we call imaging.
Joe Sixpack puts his two speakers anywhere in the room his wife tells him to, it must look nice you know. :(

I've developed a interest in tube amps again.
OH NO Dude, mental HiFi masturbation. LOL

The problem with a single driver is physics. You need a large piston for good bass response but a small one for good high frequency response. It’s not possible to have a ten octave range and have acceptable values throughout the range.
And that my friends is the absolute bottom line.
You can't change the laws of physics ;)
My counter-laws fantasy is a single horn driver, 20-20k very flat, no bigger than the average stand mount, 100+ db sensitive, ultra low distortion.
Mental HiFi masturbation! LOL

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
The BMR basically uses a diaphragm with weights attached which makes them less efficient. They are very useful drivers but not useful for full range. I believe they can be used on headphones