• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Marantz SA-10 Review (SACD Player & DAC)

Rate this product:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 70 23.3%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 139 46.2%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther)

Votes: 78 25.9%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 14 4.7%

• Total voters

TimF

Forum Donor
This device the SA-10, I liken it to a Super Bowl ring. They are in the same price range too.

PeteL

Major Contributor
Can you provide a citation for this? As far as I understand it, the digital signal from either input should be fed directly into the DAC for conversion without any additional processing.
I am no expert really, maybe some can answer better, but I did think that there was error correction mechanism in optical reading and conversion from optical to data. Just a guess but maybe some do better than others? I do know that more generally speaking digital does not equate perfect. bad stuff can happen but It may be a non issue, just a guess here, and just saying that we can't assume perfection just because...

sonci99

Have you ever properly tested all of these things you're asserting?

I would put a significant chunk of money on you being unable to tell the difference in a blind test between your CD player of preference, an Oppo, and a 16/44 rip of your favourite CD played through a $300 Topping DAC, assuming other equipment is the same and volume level is matched between sources.
It may be, and in that case you may win some money, but I just shared my experience, and that's all..

DonR

Major Contributor
Sure the USB input has to go through a conversion process to SPDIF and the laser signal cannot be fed directly into the DAC chip.