• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What to use?

serlv

Looking to bring out the beauty and deep color of some old speakers I have. I have previously only dusted with a rag or towel.
What waxes, polishes or solutions do people use? I have no experience with wood finishes or veneers.

Thanks,
Scott

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
I use Pledge for general waxing and anti-static. It's easy to apply and buff/remove, lasts a long time and smells decent.

sam_adams

Major Contributor
The only thing that one needs to be careful of when using a spray polish like Pledge, is that older lacquer finishes may dissolve slightly because of the alcohol content which can cause the water in the solution to be absorbed into the lacquer and leave the finish with a white haze. Spray the polish on a cloth and work it into the cloth letting the alcohol evaporate, then wipe down the finish with the cloth.

JSmith

Master Contributor

JSmith

pseudoid

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Should cleaning, dusting and applying overlay treatments to wood products be handled separately?
Then, there is surface repair products for such things as nicks and scratches.
Da missus sez she likes:
[All our furniture are solid-woods and mostly oak.]
  • The Howard Feed-N-Wax (wood polish/conditioner w/beeswax and orange oil), and
  • For cleaning she sez she likes plant-based "methodhome.com" products.

Flexecutioner

Should cleaning, dusting and applying overlay treatments to wood products be handled separately?
Then, there is surface repair products for such things as nicks and scratches.
Da missus sez she likes:
[All our furniture are solid-woods and mostly oak.]