• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

UK Mains Supply.

Barstool

Apologies if this has been done to death but there is so much conflicting information out there and I`d be keen to hear some thoughts on this.

I have a fairly decent system, B&W 803 D4`s, 2 off JL 10" Subs, Auralic G2.1, Musical Fidelity Tri Vista 300 (John Sampson Upgraded) and Eximus DP1 DAC, so a mixture of old and new. I worked in the HiFi industry for several years and have heard some amazing systems, Personally I think my system performs really well most of the time.

I am lucky enough to have good hearing and as a muscian (guitar) I have a limited understanding of production techniques and have near perfect pitch.

Having recently installed a number of acoustic panels and some better (silver) cables all round, the focus and sound stage have shown dramatic improvements, well in HiFi terms at least.

In then dawned on me, my amp and DAC are plugged in to a cheap crappy power bar, how did I miss that one ? The Streamer is fed from a twin socket wired directly from the mains, albeit again via a not great power bar, due to locations of equipment.

There is no audible noise from the speakers, and I am not convinced by line or mains conditioners but, am considering a good quality power bar like the Isol 8 at around £600.

I`m not a constant `tweaker` but this is perplexing me so would very much appreciate some advice and opinions.

Thanks!

voodooless

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi there, and welcome!

Frankly: don’t spend useless money on something like that unless you want some kind of surge protector for things like lightning strikes and such. For that you don’t even need to spend that kind of money either.